[FINAL] Protocol Upgrade #8: Guardian, Security Council Threshold and L2 ProxyAdmin Ownership changes for Stage 1 Decentralization

Hi Maurelian here, I’m a protocol security engineer at OP Labs. OP Labs is a software development company focused on the Optimism ecosystem and a core developer of the OP Stack. We provide some services to, but do not represent or speak on behalf of, the Optimism Foundation.

Executive Summary

The protocol upgrade is intended to increase the security and decentralization of the Superchain by meeting the following requirements:

1. Increasing the Security Council Safe’s signing threshold, from 4 to 10, out of 13 owners. This meets the 75% threshold requirement for a Stage 1 rollup outlined in L2Beat’s Stages framework.

2. Reassigning the role of Guardian from the Foundation to a new Guardian Safe with the Security Council Safe as its sole owner. This moves the Superchain closer to satisfying the 1 week exit window requirement for Stage 1.

Additionally the Foundation is appointed to the new DeputyGuardian role which is able to act as Guardian through the Guardian Safe. This appointment can be revoked by the Security Council Safe at any time.

Even though the appointment of the DeputyGuardian is closer to a change in configuration than version, it is a fundamental component of the Superchain’s security model and thus we are requesting governance approval (as would, we believe, any decision to use the Security Council Safe to modify the DeputyGuardian).

Note that the Guardian role is generally authorized to enforce ‘Safety over Liveness’ in the system, meaning that it can currently pause and unpause withdrawals, and following the Fault Proofs upgrade will be able to intervene in the event that a bug would allow an invalid L2 output to be finalized.