Bringing valuable public content to Optimism

Hi, I’m a builder of Matters Town, and we just finished migrating to Optimism from Polygon. As the transactions ramp up and we plan to attend the demo tomorrow, I’d like to share some background of Matters Town and the perspective from a community quite different from the ones already on Optimism.

In 2018, there was widespread recognition of the collapse of the media ecosystem in Chinese, a language used by 1/5 of the world population. As in the English world, social media outcompete traditional media, especially the small and independent ones, and then fill the void with viral and manipulative content controlled by algorithms. For Chinese users, things were hugely exacerbated by an authoritarian government that has fine-grain control over what you can publish and read.

In the debris emerged Matters, a global community of writers, creators, and builders seeking a better way to distribute and sustain valuable content, a new space in the digital world to practice democratical self-governance. We turned to p2p protocols and the nascent blockchain technology, hoping to build a censorship-resilient network that can sustain content with great public value. The main application Matters Town quickly fit into the need and grew to over 120k creators and 600k monthly readers. It also spread into other languages, first to Russian and Farsi where users have similar needs, then to more than 40 other languages.

We later realized that starting from practical needs, the problems we need to overcome are uncommon in the Web3 world that is shaped by cycles of ups and downs. For instance, we combined ActivityPub, the most widely adopted social protocol, with IPFS for p2p data transfer; we utilized donation, the most common financial relation between reader and creator, as the on-chain curation signal; we designed from scratch an on-chain advertisement protocol to sustain the underserved creators.